Zebbug and Valletta seal promotion issue

Valletta and Zebbug Rangers won their respective matches to join the already promoted Gzira United to Premier Division status next year.

Both teams were eager to follow the Maroons’ footsteps and seal the promotion issue with a bang. They succeeded to dominate their respective opponents and achieve the most deserved success.

Zebbug defeated Kalkara 10-3 to assure themselves of a Premier Division spot after producing a successful season. It was a great performance by the Rangers who had their talisman player, Jamie Portelli in fine form not only during this match,  but for the whole season.

After taking a 4-2 advantage before a balanced first half, Zebbug dominated the proceedings in the second half and scored six more goals to ensure their victory.

Jamie Portelli hit the target five times, while Ricky Zammit, Alan Zammit, Bernard Bonnici, Steve Mifsud and James Bonnici added more goals for the winners.







Valletta emulated their promotion rivals and saw off Santa Lucia 6-1 to gain the most important victory and keep the unbeaten record in 2014.

After a rather shaky start, where they lost five from their first seven matches, Xavier Saliba’s boys produce an impressive run during this year, dropping only two points from a draw. They deserved this promotion having been one of the most consistent teams in this division.

For Xavier Saliba this was another special season as he succeeded to obtain his third personal promotion as coach having also helped San Gwann ascend from Second Division to Premier.

The Citizens had more possession of the ball and ended the first half 3-0 up. In the second half the plan of the match didn’t change so much with Santa Lucia trying to limit the damage and scoring a goal to reduce the arrears.

Renald Formston hit a hat-trick, Clayton Felice scored a brace and Dassier Borg added another one for Valletta.

Santa Lucia scored their only goal from Angelo Dimech.






The final issue in this division will be decided in the coming matches as Zebbug, Gzira and Valletta will contend the Championship issue.