Next year’s Futsal League format launched

23 teams will be taking part in next season’s futsal leagues organized by the Futsal Malta Association (FMA) after the clubs met at the Corradino Pavillion last week.

Four new clubs Lija Athletics, Mellieha FC, Attard FC and Mdina Knights are returning in the Futsal competitions and will participate in the First Division.

The Premier Division will be made up of ten teams; Balzan FC, Luxol St Andrews, Hamrun Spartans, Qormi FC, Mosta FC, Swieqi FC, Valletta FC, Gzira Utd, Zebbug Rangers and Zurrieq.

The bottom two teams will be relegated to the First Division while the third team from the bottom will participate in a play-off with First Division teams who placed third, fourth and fifth respectively for a promotion spot.

The First Division will be composed of thirteen teams; Luqa St Andrews, Mdina Knights,  Lija Athletics, Fgura Utd, Mellieha FC, Msida St Joseph, Siggiewi FC, Mqabba FC, Qrendi FC, Sirens, Attard, Naxxar Lions and B’Bugia FC.

In this division the first two teams will be promoted to Premier Division status the following year.