A Closer Look at…England National Futsal Team

The England national futsal team is affiliated with the English Football Association and represents its country during international futsal competitions.

England’s Football Association was late to adopt futsal. In fact, the national team was first formed in 2003, after futsal started to gain popularity in 2002.

Despite all this, the national team has improved a lot in these last few years and has seen this game as crucial to developing the next generation.

They are now taking strides to catch up with the continent’s best with the English FA hoping this will also help their 11-a-side teams.

The English Futsal league is run by the same Football Association and began in 2008 featuring 24 teams in three regions: North, Midlands and South.

The top four clubs of the three regional leagues qualify for the FA Futsal Super League phase.

Baku United FC are the current champions of the league having won the title last season.

The team is led by Pete Sturgess who besides coaching the national futsal team, works with the English FA in the youth development for the 5 to 11 age group.

England may have climbed 23 places in the World Futsal Rankings during 2014, the biggest rise of any nation, but they still lie seven places behind Latvia, arguably their main rivals for superiority in Group E in Malta.

As well as Latvia, England will also face Andorra and Malta, with only the top team guaranteed to progress to the next round.

Sturgess has chosen his final list for the EURO qualifiers to be played in Malta this week:

The squad

1. James Dalton (Baku United Futsal Club)
2. Ben Mortlock (Sheffield Futsal Club)
3. Agon Rexha (Baku United Futsal Club)
4. Richard Ward (Sheffield Futsal Club)
5. George Nash (Bristol City Futsal Club)
6. Ian Parkes (Bristol City Futsal Club)
7. David Jennings (West London Futsal Club)
8. Luke Ballinger (Bristol City Futsal Club)
9. Will Rooke (Loughborough Students Futsal)
10. James Webb (Loughborough Students Futsal)
11. Toluwa Sotonye (Reading Futsal Club)
12. Stuart Cook  (Manchester Futsal Club)
13. Jordan Parker (Manchester Futsal Club)
14. Guillermo Wallace (Real Betis FS Nazareno)